Day 11- A deceased person you wish you could talk to

24 Jun

Grandpa, Gramps, Old Man, etc.,

You don’t know me, but I’m your son Stan’s daughter, Caitlyn Elizabeth. I’m fifteen, I love reading and writing and music and movies and… bunches of things. What’s weird is that I am constantly learning that we have a lot of things in common. Like, when I was younger I loved theater and always wanted to get involved, but never had the guts to. Then I learned you were a tap dancer in Vaudeville. When I was looking for colleges, I randomly picked the majority of my top choices in Ohio, for absolutely no reason, and one of them happened to be your alma mater, Wittenberg. Then, when I began to rethink writing, I decided on advertising and marketing, not knowing that you did the same thing. I mean, you were 2nd in command for advertising for The New York Times, and then a vice-president at some advertising firm, with a huge corner office on the 40th floor of a building on Madison Ave. You (and after you died, grandma) received a Christmas card from the publisher of The New York Times. (!) Even though I never met you, or knew you, I look up to you. I wish we could have met, or talked, or… something. But this will have to do.

Caitlyn

Leave a Reply

