fortunately, there’s sex

29 May

Love is the answer, but while you are waiting for the answer, sex raises some pretty good questions.

~Woody Allen

For a three letter word, it has a huge impact on our world. It’s one of the most useful tools in advertising, people sometimes need to seek treatment for addiction, scandals ensue from it, babies come from it and so on. There are different definitions of “sexual intercourse”. For example, the “traditional” kind of sex between a man and a woman with the penis and the vagina (to get technical), oral sex, which some people consider more intimate than “traditional” sex, buttsecks, and so on. Sex can be turned into a vulgar joke, a casual hobby, an act of love, etc. For me, it all boils down to this:

Sex for teenagers: Let’s do it because “all our friends are”. I have recently learned how untrue this really is. A good friend of mine whose boyfriend is a freshman is college, was a virgin when he started college, along with his hot roommate and most of their not-undateable friends . Also, not every girl is having sex just because the teen pregnancy rate is spiked harder than a straight shot of whiskey (random side note: but that straight shot of whiskey is probably how most of them got there). No, there is no denying that A LOT of teenagers are having sex, obviously because of teen pregnancy, but not everyone is doing it. And most teenagers that do it think they are a. in love and going to spend the rest of their life with the person they meet at 15/16/17 b. think they are in a committed relationship and trust and care about the person and said person feels the same way c. other. I am in NO WAY saying that all teenagers that partake in sex are doing it just to do it or are having meaningless sex. Yes, I believe that teenagers can fall in love, yes I believe that not all sex between teenagers is meaningless. But I also believe that many teenagers either are not as ready as they think they are or that they are not considering the repercussions.

Sex for young adults (aka non-married people, not divorced 18+): Is generally done for love, recreation or another, unspecified reason. Generally, in my possibly uneducated opinion, safer (physically) and safer (heart wise) because repercussions are considered more, on both fronts. But I know very little about non-married, non-divorced 18+ people’s sexual habits.

Adults: Let’s just not go there.

What about you and sex, Caitlyn? Well thank you for asking, creepy voice in my head, I’ll tell you.  I am 15 and still a virgin. I’m not on birth control (although that will soon change), and I do not have a boyfriend. I don’t have any guy friends that I care about and trust enough to lose it too either. But all of this may change. I have a feeling, if things are going the way they are, my first time will be uncomfortable, with a guy who really doesn’t give a shit about me, and I’ll get hurt and regret it. But honestly? I think I can live with that. Maybe I’m just being pessimistic, or maybe I’m just being realistic: I don’t think losing my virginity will be the heart-stopping, mind-racing, When-Harry-Met-Sally-I’ll- have-what-she’s- having kind of amazing. I don’t think that I will be madly and passionately in love, I don’t think the guy will really care about me and I think that in the end, I might regret it. I wish I could believe that it will be different, but I can’t.

WHERETHEDUCKSGO

DEDICATED TO: Callie, Noah, and Steph.

And someone else.

You know who you are.

One Response to “fortunately, there’s sex”

  1. Natasha May 29, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    Relevant to my interests: Jason Mraz.

Leave a Reply

