music: five letters and counting

23 May

“Music is enough for a lifetime, but a lifetime is not enough for music.”
– Sergei Rachmaninov

When you google the word “music” you get 1, 520, 000,000 results. I don’t know what half of those results include, but the first few include some sites to listen to music, and then the Wikipedia page for music. Wikipedia defines music as “an art form whose medium is sound”. This art form with the medium of sound is one of the most potent things in my life. It has provided me with companionship when I need something to be there, understanding when I need something to relate to me, elation when I want to feel happy, inspiration when I am blocked creatively, peaceful when I want to be and so on. Music has been apart of my life in numerous ways and has impacted me in the same amount. From the time I was actively involved in music, to now, I have always felt passionately about it. I still wish I was more musically inclined; for instance, I would love to have a good singing voice or the patience for the guitar or the money for a piano or keyboard. But, those things I do not have currently, although that all might change sooner or later.
Lately, I have been realizing how incredibly strong a pull music has on me. As a writer, lyrics are something that move me above anything else. I love the lyrics from bands of numerous genres; metal, pop, punk, rock, indie, etc., lyricists, in my opinion, are more talented then people like me who only write prose and/or poetry. Prose and poetry are not necessarily put to music, or have music put to them. But lyrics, again, in my opinion, are a whole other beast on their own. Not only does the music I listen to have lyrics with powerful meanings, a story, a funny/ humorous tone and such, it is ALSO put to well executed melodies and harmonies and what have you ( I obviously don’t know too much about the logistics of music). I find that completely and irrevocably mind blowing, not to mention fucking brilliant . When I am listening to a song, I don’t want to just be able to enjoy the beat or whatever, I want to be able to relate to the lyrics, get lost in them and feel them, as cheesy as that sounds/ is.
Friends of mine who are musicians (and I hope are reading this) are some of the most incredible people I know. Like I previously said, being able to write a song, to me, is one of the most incredible things ever. I can barely write a decent poem or story, so writing lyrics and notes to a song is difficult for me to fathom. So anyways, my friends that are musicians fascinate me. Both in a lab rat sort of way and an awful (aweful) way. My friend Jordan is one of the most talented writers I know. She writes poetry that makes me swoon and lyrics that make me lightheaded. I’ve never heard her play guitar, but, from hearing her play sax, I am positive she is fantastic at it. I’ve always wanted to hear one of her songs put to music, especially with her voice (which is amazing, thankyouverymuch), and I hope to one day.  My friend Dylan, who while being hot, is also the only person I have ever met to write a song entitled “Pumpkin” (about a pumpkin) that has made me cry. My friend Mike (insert album pimping here) is an incredible lyricist, and his piano playing skills blow my mind whenever I watch a video of his, and he is ridiculously creative and I sometimes can’t stand to talk to him because he is so talented (like all of my other friends). Even my brother and uncle (that picture of my uncle is from about 20 years ago), who are both wonderful musicians and artists in multiple ways and mediums, can establish a serious envy in me. So, yes, I do sort of worship musicians, if only because I am in complete and utter awe of them.
It’s hard to sum up this blog the way I want to: by saying how music effects me exactly and how it impacts me and so on. But that, among other things, is why I am no musician. I suck at putting things into words, but I’ll give it the old college try. Music can move me in a way nothing else can. It can bring me to where I need to be. It can remind me of a certain aroma, a certain place, a certain person or a certain time. It can put the most colorful and intricate background to whatever I am experiencing. It can punctuate what I’m saying, it can make a moment more intense, it, like a camera, can take a picture. It can make everything seem a little more mellow or hyped, or a person seem sexier or happier. For being such a small word, music is one of the biggest things in my life.

WHERETHEDUCKSGO

THIS BLOG IS DEDICATED TO MUSIC.

2 Responses to “music: five letters and counting”

  1. Natasha May 23, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    I agreeee. 🙂

  2. drtombibey May 24, 2010 at 5:17 am #

    Eight notes and a lifetime of variations. I love it too.

    Dr. B

Leave a Reply

