this blog is made of fail

12 May

“It is not sufficient to see and to know the beauty of a work. We must feel and be affected by it.”
-Voltaire

So, I was originally going to write another in a long and agonizing series of would-be witty blogs, but the subject of my freestyle rapping career is just not what I’m feeling today. However, I am feeling like writing about writing about writing about writing about fish. What? Oh right! Writing about writing. TO BEGIN: I will introduce you to my writing process.

1. I look up names on this website: name website thingy

2. After that, I fill out this survey for my main characters.

3. Then I make a VERY rough outline. But I rarely outline my stories, I just jump into writing most of the time.

4. Write.

5. Read again, become over-analytical and delete everything or just abandon the Terrible Writing and avoid it like the plague.

BUT NOW: I will actually try to continue my story and finish it. Basically, the story is about a boy and a girl, Emma and Ayden. Emma is broken, with a troubled past and a lot of problems, Ayden is the best friend from the wealthy family and little baggage, other than that he wants his best friend. Enter Anberlin, the boarding school for “free thinkers, artists and the youth of today with a sense of culture”, where Emma and Ayden go to escape everyone from the city. Emma leading the way, Ayden tagging along under the pretense of his parents’ iron fist of Boarding School Dreams coming down to punch him. Things don’t turn out the way Emma planned; she doesn’t make a huge circle of friends, discover any hidden talents or escape any of the ghosts she left behind, while Ayden has the time of his life. Told in alternating points of view, first person.

So, yes, very rough, still patchy and working on it. Also, this is my third attempt at writing this story and I’ve never finished it. Maybe I just need to move on, but I am in love with this story, no matter how many times it breaks up with me and attempts to file restraining orders. I just love it, despite how much of a cliche it seems like (/is). If I actually do get a chapter done, I will post it here, provided there is some interest.

But, now that I think of it, maybe I should start up my NaNoWriMo story from last year…

Undecidedly,

WHERETHEDUCKSGO

BOOKS READ: 13

SOUNDTRACK: Angst in my Pants by Sparks

THIS BLOG IS DEDICATED TO ERICA (INKSSTAINEDHAND)

One Response to “this blog is made of fail”

  1. Mike May 12, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    Why is this blog not dedicated to Mike Lombardo?

Leave a Reply

