an end to a bad week.

30 Jan

“Friends are just enemies that don’t have enough guts to kill you.”
-Unknown

So, blog readers, I’ve had a royally shitty week. Here’s a list of the crap that happened this week:

1. Mid-terms. ‘Nuff said.

2. Essay. Again, ’nuff said.

3. J.D. Salinger died. If any of you follow me on twitter, you will know that I was in tears about this. J.D. Salinger’s death hit me pretty hard for a number of reasons. One would be because Catcher in the Rye was the book that taught me a lot about proving people wrong when or if they doubted me. It also gave me a good euphemism for when I was lost.

“You know those ducks in that lagoon by the lake right near Central Park south? That little lake? By any chance, do you happen to know where they go,the ducks, when it gets all frozen over?”
Catcher in the Rye

Because I read this at 13, when I was in a group of friends who were smarter than me in certain subjects and were more likely to read this book than i was (according to the teachers), I felt a bit lost. But when Holden asked the taxi driver where those ducks went, I was thinking, “Where do I go?” and I still don’t know, which is why I read Catcher in the Rye often. J.D. Salinger was the catcher in the rye, catching children coming through the rye of childhood. He may be dead, but his works never will be, no matter how cliche that is.

4. My best friend (ha. ha ha.) stole my laptop in order to freak me out and teach me a lesson (the laptop is back in my possession) Don’t really want to elaborate on this one.

BUT:

Some good things that happened this week:

1. My lipgloss came in the mail. Yeah, I know I’m such a girly girl, but I was super excited for it.

2. I got an 88 on my Biology mid-term. Yeah, I have no idea how either.

3. I went to the gym today. (…)

4. I spent three hours cleaning my bathroom. Most disgusting thing ever, but so worth it.

5. My shower was so good.

E

Evergreen trees and their smell

Emeralds

Emerald eyes

Excitement

extra chocolate

elves

Europe

England

eating

earrings

eclectic people

eloquence

Why today is awesome: I painted my nails and they look wonderful

Goal: read 100 pages in my book by tomorrow

(and while I shamelessly rip off hayleyghoover’s blog, I will begin a counter)

Books finished this year: 1

Credit where credit is due: Photo by Ben

Leave a Reply

